Maldives Government

The Maldives Government is an example of presidential republic. The President is the head of the government and is in charge of the executive branch of the government. It is the president who appoints the cabinet and selects the council of ministers.

The president is selected for a term of five years. He is nominated by the parliament of the country, which is known as Majlis. The secret ballot system of voting is followed over here when selecting the president.
The parliament selects candidates fro the post of the president and this must be supported by a national vote. The president is not only the head of the government, but also the chief of the state. The current president of Maldives is Mr. Maumoon Abdul Gayoom. The country has a unicameral parliament, known as 'Majlis'. The legislature is composed of 50 members. Who are selected for a term of five years.
Out of the 50 members, 2 members are selected from each of the atolls by means of the universal suffrage system and 8 members are appointed by the president of the country. As far as the local government is concerned, each atoll is under the charge of an Atoll chief. The atoll chief is assisted by the 'gazi', who is the religious head of the atoll. There are in total 19 atolls with their respective chiefs. The islands are headed by the island chiefs or 'Kateeb'. The atoll chief appoints the Kateeb after consulting the Ministry of Atolls Administration.
The political system in Maldives, prior to 2005, was based on individuals. However, from June 2nd 2005 onwards, political parties were recognized and were brought within the electoral system.

The judicial system of the country is based on Islamic laws and regulations. The secular officials, a chief justice, and lesser judges, who are appointed by the President, administers the law.

The Maldives government has recently introduced a large number of democratic reforms and changes in order to benefit the country and its people.